Spending time with your family and friends is always fun, even more, when you head out of your city or state for vacations or holidays. It is always a safe idea to go via airplane, but it is always adventurous if you decide to bring your car with yourself and ride around the country. Leaving your state behind means, you are leaving its laws and entering another state means you are going to act on its laws. No rocket science involved, it is as easy as you can get. The tourism is now an actual business in the United States and most families, and people take their cars with themselves on tour or other trips. So, you need to follow the laws of the state you are traveling in and staying in.
If you are traveling across the country via a car, and you are driving on Virginia highway, such as, Interstate 95, Interstate 66, Interstate 495 (also known as the Capitol Beltway), Route 267 (the Dulles Toll Road), or Route 286 (the Fairfax County Parkway) then you have to follow the Virginia laws instead of where you are heading at. If you are charged with reckless driving on any of the mentioned above, then you will be treated as a Virginia citizen, and you will face the charges. Misdemeanor class 1 will be activated, and you have to act according to the situation and follow the case.
Know the Reckless Driving Laws in Virginia
Reckless driving doesn’t mean that only speeding is counted. There are other factors too which can land you in the problem and with a reckless driving charge. According to the code of Virginia, putting anyone’s life in danger because of your driving or resulting in loss of someone’s property because your driving is a reckless driving crime. Crossing stopped school bus or overtaking any emergency vehicle can also be counted in reckless driving. Would the charges be different if someone is from a different state? Well, no. As mentioned above, any person who is in a different state will be charged according to the code of the present state. Reckless driving in Virginia is a misdemeanor class 1 crime and can land you in the following penalties:
- Maximum 12 months in jail
- A fine of not more than $2,500
- Negative points on your driver’s license
- Getting your driving license suspended
- Increased insurance premiums
- A permanent criminal record for your life
- Bigger chance of being found accountable in a civil suit if your reckless driving claim stemmed from an accident
If you are in Virginia and you are charged with the reckless driving crime, then you can look for the lawyer or ask the court to appoint you because you belong to another state. The court will appoint you a lawyer in case you are being sentenced to the jail; else you can find a lawyer very easily in Virginia.